11 Oct 2015   |   News

Kajetanowicz is the 2015 FIA European Rally Champion!


Kajetan Kajetanowicz is the 2015 FIA European Rally Champion, after winning the SEAJETS Acropolis Rally in his LOTOS Rally Team Ford Fiesta R5.

Extreme weather conditions, which saw a big thunderstorm sweep over the Loutraki region, caused the event’s final three stages to be cancelled. The final results will be declared after SS6 – just when Kajetanowicz had retaken the lead.

With 69% of the event completed, full ERC points will be awarded – meaning that Kajetanowicz, subject to official confirmation, cannot be caught in the driver standings. As the provisional results stand, he has 230 points, while second-placed Craig Breen (Peugeot Rally Academy) has 162 points.

Kajetanowicz is the third Polish driver to win the ERC title – following in the footsteps of Sobiesław Zasada and Krzysztof Hołowczyc. His co-driver, Jarek Baran, is ERC champion too, having finished runner-up in 2002, co-driving for Janusz Kulig.

“Yes, we did it, it’s been an amazing day,” said an overjoyed Kajetanowicz. “It was a dream but now it’s come true. What can I say? Thanks to my team like always. To be honest it was a really hard year for us but we did it, we’re European champions. It’s amazing.

“It’s a big, big, really big day, probably the best day in my life. I don’t know – how can I say it? We did it with winning Acropolis Rally. It’s also a big thing, one of the most difficult rallies in the world, not only in European championship.

I want to say thank you to my parents, mum and dad. They believe in me every time, everywhere. I have no time for them but I want to change it because they are very important for me. They are always with me, and they are always in my heart.”